This Fulton County site is a member of the NYGenWeb Project under the USGenWeb Project

HOME What's New Search Biographies Cemeteries Census Churches History Images Military Misc. Queries Resources Schools Surnames Towns Vitals

FULTON COUNTY, named after the illustrious inventor of the steamboat, was created by the legislative act of April 18, 1838, in obedience to a general public sentiment. The removal of the county buildings from Johnstown to Fonda rendered the population of the northern part of Montgomery county so indignant that the erection of the new county was but an act of justice. Fulton county originally contained nine towns, including Perth, whose organization was contemporary with that of the county itself. Caroga, however, was added April 11, 1842, having been created out of Stratford, Bleecker and Johnstown. - "History of Fulton County" by Washington Frothingham, 1892

Hamilton to the north, Saratoga to the east, Montgomery to the south and Herkimer to the west.

Fulton County Coordinator: Lisa Slaski

Please note that as Fulton County Coordinator all information I possess is contained within this website. If you would like to contribute Fulton County genealogy data to this website please contact me above.

Please bear with me as I try to do a site overhaul with a new design, but feel free to send in broken links at any time!

Past County Coordinators:
Brent Beardsley 1997
Jeanette Shiel 1999-2006
Lisa Slaski 2005-present

Copyright ©1997-2017: Fulton County NYGenWeb, All rights reserved. Site Design by Lisa Slaski